Discursive Topics

Abortion
Advertising
Aged
AIDS
Alcoholism
Animal rights
Asylum
Bullying
Cancer
Censorship
Charities
Children
Citizens advice
Cloning
Consumers rights
Crime
Death penalty
Developing countries
Disability
Drugs and drug abuse
Environment
Equal opportunities
Euthanasia
Family life
Family planning
Football
Genetically modified food
Health
Homeless
Human Rights
Hunting
Internet
Legal issues
Local government
Mental health
Monarchy
Noise
Nuclear issues
Political parties
Political prisoners
Poverty [Developing countries]
Poverty [UK]
Racism
Smoking
Social welfare
Sports
Teenage pregnancy
Television
Terrorism
Transport
Vegetarianism
War
Waste
Women


 "People say that life is the thing, but  I prefer reading." - Logan Pearsall  Smith

 "Reading maketh a full man." -  Francis Bacon

 "The reading of good books is like a  conversation with the best men of  past centuries." - Rene Descartes

 "A good book is the precious  life- blood of a master spirit." - John  Milton

 "A good book is the best of friends,  the same today and for ever." -  Martin Tupper

 "Books think for me." - Charles  Lamb

 "All books are either dreams or  swords, You can cut, or you can  drug, with words." - Amy Lowell

 "People die, but books never die." -  Franklin D. Roosevelt

 "Books do furnish a room." -  Anthony Powell

 "A good book is the purest essence  of a human soul." - Thomas Carlyle

 "The proper study of mankind is  books." - Aldous Huxley

 "I have rather studied books than  men." - Francis Bacon


 

































































































































Website Links for Discursive Essays


Below are some website links for suitable topics for discursive essays for the Standard Grade, Intermediate or Higher
courses.

Click on the Website address to visit the site.

Subject Organisation Stance Website address
Abortion Education for Choice information www.efc.org.uk
Just the facts information www.justthefacts.org
Abortion Survey pro & con www.youdebate.com
National Right to Life anti www.nrlc.org
Pro Life Alliance anti www.prolife.org.uk
Society for the Protection of Unborn Children anti www.spuc.org.uk
Voice for Choice pro www.bpas.org/abortions/choice.html
Advertising Advertising Standards Agency www.asa.org.uk
critical www.adbusters.org
Aged Age Concern England www.ageconcern.org.uk
Alzheimer's Society Charity/research www.alzheimers.org.uk
ARP/050- The Association of Retired and Persons Over 50 Pro www.arp050.org.uk
Campaign Against Age Discrimination in Employment (CAADE) Pro www.caade.net
Counsel and Care Pro www.counselandcare.org.uk
The Employers' Forum on Age Network www.efa-agediversity.org.uk
Help the Aged www.helptheaged.org.uk
National Pensioners Convention Umbrella body Pro www.natpencon.org.uk
Research into Ageing Research www.ageing.org
Third Age Employment Network Pro www.taen.org.uk
AIDS BMA Foundation for AIDS educational www.bmaids.demon.co.uk
Crusaid fundraiser www.crusaid.org.uk
National Aids Trust information www.nat.org.uk
Terence HigginsTrust information www.tht.org.uk
Alcoholism Alcohol Concern information www.alcoholconcern.org.uk
Alcohol Education and Research Council Education www.aerc.org.uk
Alcohol Focus Scotland Charity www.alcohol-focus-scotland.org.uk
Alcohol Problems Advisory Service Support www.apas.org.uk
Alcoholics Anonymous Support www.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk
Medical Council on Alcohol education www.medicouncilalcol.demon.co.uk
National Association for Children of Alcoholics Information www.nacoa.org.uk
Portman Group Information www.portman-group.org.uk
Tacade education www.tacade.com
Wrecked Information www.wrecked.co.uk
Animal rights Animal aid pro-animal www.animalaid.org.uk
Animal Rights Coalition (UK) pro-animal www.arcnews.co.uk
The British Union for the Abolition of Vivisection Anti animal experiments www.buav.org

Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments
Anti animal experiments www.frame.org.uk
Huntingdon Life Sciences Product development www.huntingdon.com
Research Defence Society Pro animal research www.rds-online.org.uk
RSPCA Pro-animal www.rspca.org.uk
Uncaged Campaigns Anti animal experiments www.uncaged.co.uk
Asylum Asylum aid pro www.asylumaid.org.uk
Government www.homeoffice.gov.uk
Joint Council for the Welfare of Immigrants pro www.jcwi.org.uk
Refugee Council Information www.refugeecouncil.org.uk
United Nations High Commission for Refugees Agency www.unhcr.ch/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/home
Bullying Anti-Bullying Network Information www.antibullying.net
Childline information www.childline.org.uk
NSPCC information www.nspcc.org.uk
Scottish Council for Research in Education information www.scre.ac.uk/bully
Cancer Breast Cancer Campaign Research www.bcc-uk.org
Breast Cancer Care Information/Support www.breastcancercare.org.uk
Cancer Research UK Research/Information www.cancerresearchuk.org
CancerBACUP Information/Support www.cancerbacup.org.uk
Macmillan Cancer Relief Charity www.macmillan.org.uk
Marie Curie Cancer Care Caring service www.mariecurie.org.uk
Sargent Cancer Care for Children Support www.sargent.org
Censorship Article 19 Against www.article19.org
Charter of UK politics censorship Discussion www.usenet.org.uk
Feminists Against Censorship Against www.fiawol.demon.co.uk/FAC
Index on Censorship Information www.indexoncensorship.org
Charities Charity choice Information www.charitychoice.co.uk
Charity Commission UK government organisation to regulate charities www.charity-commission.gov.uk
Children Barnardo's Children's charity www.barnardos.org.uk
ChildLine information www.childline.org.uk
Children 1st protection www.children1st.org.uk
Children are Unbeatable! Against beating www.childrenareunbeatable.org.uk
Children in Scotland National agency www.childreninscotland.org.uk
Children's Rights Alliance for England Pro children's rights www.crights.org.uk
Children's Society Information www.the-childrens-society.org.uk
Kidscape Campaign for Children's Safety Children's charity/protection www.kidscape.org.uk
National Children's Bureau Information www.ncb.org.uk
NCH Children's Charity/Protection www.nch.org.uk
NSPCC Protection www.nspcc.org.uk
Save the Children www.savethechildren.org.uk
www.beatpoverty.org
UNICEF Organisation www.unicef.org
Citizens advice Citizens advice Independent charity www.nacab.org.uk
Cloning BioFact Report Information www.biofact.com/cloning
Guardian report Information www.guardian.co.uk/genes
Human Cloning Foundation Pro www.humancloning.org
I hate cloning Anti www.ihatecloning.com
New Scientist Information www.newscientist.com/hottopics/cloning
Consumers rights Office of Fair Trading Protect consumers www.oft.gov.uk
Which magazine Information www.which.net
Crime The Howard League for Penal Reform Pro reform of the penal system www.howardleague.org
Metropolitan Police Service Police www.met.police.uk
Nacro Reforming society www.nacro.org.uk
The Suzy Lamplugh Trust Charity for personal safety www.suzylamplugh.org
Youth Justice Board Prevention of offending www.youth-justice-board.gov.uk
Death penalty Campaign to End the Death Penalty anti www.nodeathpenalty.org
Casey's Critical Thinking Conservative information www.carmical.net/articles/deathpenalty.html
anti www.friends-for-life.demon.co.uk
Pro-death penalty pro www.prodeathpenalty.com
Wesley Lowe's pro-death penalty website pro www.geocities.com/Area51/Capsule/2698/cp.html
Developing countries Oneworld.net Information www.oneworld.org
Oxfam Aid www.oxfam.org.uk
UNICEF www.unicef.org.uk
www.therightsite.org.uk
Worldaware www.worldaware.org.uk
www.globaleye.org.uk
The World Bank www.worldbank.org
World Vision UK
www.worldvision.org.uk
Disability British Council of Disabled People Information www.bcodp.org.uk/?disnet
Disabled Living Foundation Charity www.dlf.org.uk
Mencap Charity for learning disability www.mencap.org.uk

National Union of Students Scotland
Disabilities campaign www.nusonline.co.uk
Drugs and drug abuse BBC Information www.bbc.co.uk/education/id
Boots Information www.bootslearningstore.com/ks3/drugs.html
Drugscope Information www.drugscope.org.uk

www.mindbodysoul.gov.uk/drugs
Scotland Against Drugs anti
www.sad.org.uk
Scottish Drugs Forum www.sdf.org.uk
Environment Friends of the Earth Pro www.for.co.uk
Global Action Plan www.globalactionplan.org.uk
Global Witness Campaigns www.oneworld.org/globalwitness
Greenpeace Pro www.greenpeace.org
World Nuclear Assocation www.world-nuclear.org/sustdev/index.htm
World Wide Fund for Nature Pro www.wwf-uk.org
Young People's Trust for the Environment education
www.yptenc.org.uk
Equal opportunities
Equal Opportunities Commission
www.eoc.org.uk
Euthanasia Anti www.euthanasia.com
Pro-life Anti www.nrlc.org
Religious Tolerance
www.religioustolerance.org
Voluntary Euthanasia Society Pro www.ves.org.uk
Family life Adoption Information Line Information www.adoption.org.uk
Family Education Trust Information www.famyouth.org.uk

Families need Fathers
www.fnf.org.uk
Planet One Parent Information www.planetoneparent.com
Relate Family counselling www.relate.org.uk
Sin
Family planning Marie Stopes Counselling www.mariestopes.org.uk
Football FIFA Association www.fifa.com
Football Association Association www.the-fa-org

Football Supporters Federation
Information www.fsf.org.uk

Kick it Out
Against racism in football www.kickitout.org

Sir Norman Chester Centre for Football Research
Research www.le.ac.uk
Genetically modified food Five Year Freeze Campaign Anti www.fiveyearfreeze.org
Health Association for the Study of Obesity Research/Information www.aso.org.uk
British Dietetic Association Campaigns/Information www.bda.uk.com
British Heart Foundation Campaigns www.bhf.org.uk
Coronary Prevention Group Information www.healthnet.org.uk

European Food Information Council
Information
www.eufic.org

Fitness Industry Association
Non-profit trade association www.fia.org.uk
Fitness League Exercise network www.thefitnessleague.com

Institute of Food Research Research
www.ifrn.ac.uk

Keep Fit Association
Pro exercise www.keepfit.org.uk

National Health Service
Information on NHS organisations www.nhs.uk
NHS Confederation Campaign network
www.nhsconfed.org
NHS Direct Online Information on health www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk
NHS Health Scotland Information on health www.hebs.org.uk

Scotland's Health on the Web
Information on health www.show.scot.nhs.uk

World Health Organization
Pro health www.who.ch
Homeless
Centrepoint
Charity www.centrepoint.org.uk
Crisis Charity www.crisis.org.uk
Homeless Link Organisation of agencies www.homeless.org.uk
National Homelessness Advice Service Government funded information body www.nhas.org.uk
homelesspages Information www.homelesspages.org.uk
Scottish Council for Single Homeless Organisation
www.scsh.co.uk
Shelter Charity
www.shelter.org.uk
Human Rights British Institute of Human Rights Education www.bihr.org
Charter 88-Citizen 21 Pro www.charter88.org.uk
European Court of Human rights Information www.echr.coe.int
Human Rights Watch Pro www.hrw.org
Liberty Pro www.liberty-human-rights.org.uk
Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights Organisation www.unhchr.ch
Privacy International Watchdog www.privacyinternational.org
Hunting Countryside Alliance Pro www.countryside-alliance.org
Hunt Saboteurs' Association Against www.huntsabs.org.uk
League against Cruel Sports Against www.league.uk.com
Internet
Association of Internet Hotline Providers in Europe
Pro safety www.inhope.org

Childnet International

Pro children's safety
www.childnet-int.org
CyberAngels Pro safety www.cyberangels.org
Internet Rights Information www.internetrights.org.uk
Internet Watch Foundation Against illegal material www.internetwatch.org.uk/index.html

Parents' Information Network
Information
www.pin.org.uk
Legal issues
Citizen's Advice Scotland
Information www.cas.org.uk
Scottish Law Commission Information www.scotlawcom.gov.uk
Scottish Legal Aid Board Legal aid www.slab.org.uk
Local government COSLA [Convention of Scottish Local Authorities] Information www.cosla.gov.uk
Mental health Mental Health Foundation Charity www.mentalhealth.org.uk
Royal College of Psychiatrists Information www.rcpsych.ac.uk
Young Minds Pro children/young people www.youngminds.org.uk
Monarchy Republic Anti www.republic.org.uk
Official Royal website Pro www.royal.gov.uk
Noise Noise Abatement Society Anti www.noiseabatementsociety.com
Nuclear issues Scottish CND Anti www.banthebomb.org/index.shtml

World Nuclear Association
Pro www.world-nuclear.org
Political parties Conservative Party www.tory.org.uk
Labour Party www.labour.org.uk

Liberal Democratic Party
www.libdems.org.uk
Scottish National Party www.snp.org/index_800.php?pageName=home_content.php
Political prisoners Amnesty International Pro www.amnesty.org
Irish Northern Aid Pro Irish Republican movement in the USA www.inac.org
Poverty [Developing countries] Actionaid Campaign www.actionaid.org
The Catholic Agency for Overseas Development [CAFOD] www.cafod.org.uk
Christian Aid www.christian-aid.org.uk
HelpAge international [HAI] www.helpage.org
Jubilee Research Information www.jubilee2000uk.org
Oxfam www.oxfam.org.uk
War on Want Campaigns www.waronwant.org
World Bank Information www.worldbank.org/poverty
World Development Movement Campaigns/Information www.wdm.org.uk
Poverty [UK] Action Against Hunger UK www.aahuk.org

Child Poverty Action Group [CPAG]

www.cpag.org.uk
Church Action on Poverty www.church-poverty.org.uk
End Child Poverty Coalition www.ecpc.org.uk
EveryChild www.everychild.org.uk
New Policy Institute www.npi.org.uk

www.poverty.org.uk
YWCA www.ywca-gb.org.uk
Racism Black Information Link- The 1990 Trust Anti www.blink.org.uk
Britkid Information www.britkid.org
Commission for Racial Equality Anti www.cre.gov.uk

Institute of Race Relations
Information
www.irr.org.uk
The Monitoring Group Advice/Help
www.monitoring-group.co.uk
Race for Racial Justice Anti
www.racialjustice.org.uk
Smoking
Action on smoking and health
Anti www.ash.org.uk
Social welfare
Department for Work and Pensions
information www.dwp.gov.uk
Sports British Olympic Association Information www.olympics.org.uk
UK Athletics Information www.ukathletics.net
UK Sport Information www.uksport.gov.uk
Australian Sports Drug Agency Drugs in sports www.asda.org.au
DrugScope Drugs www.drugscope.org.uk
World Anti-Doping Agency Anti drugs in sports www.wada-ama.org
Teenage pregnancy
Teenage Pregnancy Unit

Government body
www.info.doh.gov.uk/tpu/tpu.nsf
Television
BBC
Television channel www.bbc.co.uk
Broadcasting Standards Commission
Statutory regulatory body
www.bsc.org.uk/index800.htm
Channel 4 Television channel www.channel4.com
Channel 5 Television channel www.five.tv
Independent Television Commission Regulatory body for commercial television www.itc.org.uk
Mediawatch-uk
Campaigning body for standards
www.mediawatchuk.org/mainsite.htm
Scottish TV Television channel www.scottishtv.co.uk/content
Sky Television Television channel www.sky.com/skycom/home
Terrorism Counter-Terrorism Page Information www.terrorism.net
The Terrorism Portal Information www.theterrorismportal.com
Terrorism Research Center Information www.terrorism.com
Transport
The Automobile Association
Pro cars www.theaa.co.uk
Environmental Transport Association www.eta.co.uk
Living Streets www.livingstreets.org.uk

The Slower Speeds Initiative

www.slower-speeds.org.uk
The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders Ltd www.smmt.co.uk
Sustrans www.sustrans.org.uk
Transport 2000
www.transport2000.org.uk
Vegetarianism Meat matters Pro meat www.britishmeat.org.uk/index_flash.html
Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom Pro www.vegsoc.org
War International Campaign to ban Landmines Against landmines www.icbl.org
Peace Pledge Union Anti www.ppu.org.uk
Waste Aluminium Packaging and Recycling Organisation www.alupro.org.uk
British Glass www.britglass.co.uk
The Chartered Institution of Wastes Management www.ciwm.co.uk
Industrial Council for Packaging & the Environment
www.incpen.org
The Paper Federation of Great Britain www.ppic.org.uk
www.paper.org.uk
Salvation Army Trading Company Limited www.satradingco.org
Waste Watch www.wastewatch.org.uk
Women YWCA Pro www.ywca-gb.org.uk